Why am I here?

Standard

Scenario: you’re five weeks from graduating, studying chapbooks, and trying to figure out how a resume works. What do you do?

My solution was to start this blog.

My name is Devin, and I’m a graduating Senior at SUNY Geneseo. I’m majoring in Creative Writing, currently the poetry editor for Gandy Dancer (Issue 3.2), and struggle-bussing my way through starting my life as a professional. Sounds fun, right?

My studies as a Creative Writing Major have led me to some amazing discoveries and challenges, one of my favorite being the chapbook. I’m currently nearing the end of my second directed study on the chapbook, which involves reading other poets’ chapbooks, as well as creating my own. The process has been grueling, but I can’t wait to see the finished product that I create. Between writing tons of poems and reading tons of chapbooks, I began to really appreciate the short collections of work, as well as wonder why more attention wasn’t paid to them. When do chapbooks receive reviews? Is the only way to get a chapbook published to enter it into a contest? Do I need an MFA to start sending out my drafts? I began to realize I wanted answers, and that the best way to find them was to go after them myself.

So here we are! I’m here in an attempt to foster a better understanding and appreciation for the chapbook as a form of creative work, and figure out what writing after graduation might entail.

Welcome all, please read and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

